FOC camp ’06/’07

On the whole, this camp was a relative success on the medical front. We didn’t have to send anyone to the hospital. Although we did have to send a person or 2 to the clinic. We’ve also had a case of hypothermia. Other than that, things were relatively quiet.

Okay. Actually I’m lying. It wasn’t quiet for me. I didn’t really enjoyed myself throughout the camp because of all the stress and everything. Freshies suffering from minor cuts and bruises are alright, easy to handle. Just spray Opsite on the wounds and they’re good to go.

The ones who gave me problems were those feeling feverish and those who had hit their head while playing Human Bowling. There was 3 in particular. Angeline from Titans, Angeline from Oannes and Laura from Oannes. The Angeline from Titans was a headache. She’s… I don’t know. Some sort of demanding/whiny/whatever. Anyway, in the end she was alright. Angeline and Laura from Oannes. Hmmm. Angeline had fever and her fever kept going up and down. It was exhausting. I was more worried for Laura because she had hit her head during the Human Bowling and she felt nauseous. She had a bit of a fever too actually.

All in all, I don’t think I did a good job. I think I did rather poorly as a medic. After awhile, I kind of shut down inside. I wasn’t able to act as professional as I’d like to be cause of some internal conflicts inside. In a way, this camp wasn’t just draining physically. It was mentally and emotionally draining as well.

I still remember on the final day… During the emo session just before the freshies booked out. Vernon came up to me and said “thanks for taking care of us” with tears in his eyes. That was enough actually. I mean, yeah. I guess I did felt appreciated. I don’t know how to explain what I’m feeling then and now.

Now on his way to Jerusalem, Jesus traveled along the border between Samaria and Galilee. As he was going into a village, ten men who had leprosy met him. They stood at a distance and called out in a loud voice, “Jesus, Master, have pity on us!” When he saw them, he said, “Go, show yourselves to the priests.” And as they went, they were cleansed.

One of them, when he saw he was healed, came back, praising God in a loud voice. He threw himself at Jesus’ feet and thanked him — and he was a Samaritan.

Jesus asked, “Were not all ten cleansed? Where are the other nine? Was no one found to return and give praise to God except this foreigner?” Then he said to him, “Rise and go; your faith has made you well.”

– Luke 17: 11 – 19 (New International Version)

Now, I’m not trying to say I’m Jesus or anything. But in a way, I somehow identify with this passage. Of all the people I had helped look after, not one thanked me. But it was a GL, Vernon, that came up to me and thanked me. I never had talked to Vernon much. So in a way, it was more touching.

I’m not demanding thanks or appreciation. As I’ve said before, I was there really to help out. It is my job and my duty to help them out medically. So yeah. I don’t need the thanks. It really was my pleasure. But yes. Thanks Vernon.

Published in: on April 15, 2006 at 12:26pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jayr.wordpress.com/2006/04/15/foc-camp-0607/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

