Playing the movie

I need to learn how to play the movie. The movie theory states that everything is happening. Everything right now is just a scene in a movie and everything I do dictates how the movie turns out. I need to start living my life as if I am the director. Whether the ending is a tragedy or not depends on how I play the scene.

This is my final year in NP. Whether or not I do anything worthwhile is moot. Because after this 2 semesters, barring any failed modules, I’d have completed my studies. So whether or not I actually make friends, get a girlfriend or even achieve anything, time will still pass. Therefore, I need to play the scene the way I want my movie to end.

Playing the movie means never to see any individual action as a singular thing in and of itself: Any one thing I do is only a scene in a larger movie. To understand that action, I have to play it out all the way to the end of the movie. I have always been either thinking without doing anything or doing things without thinking about them. I need to start to think before I act.

Published in: on April 18, 2006 at 1:41am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jayr.wordpress.com/2006/04/18/playing-the-movie/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. ” The fact that we have more teen pregnancies in this country than in any other industrialized nation, while our rates of sexual activity are nearly the same, is lack of education, plain and simple. Bullock released a public statement through Warner Brothers Studios Wednesday that read:. If you learn anything from this article, know that you are not alone.


Leave a comment